Fashion Quirk #12

(Oversized) Mens Dress Shirts.

This is the outfit I threw on first thing in the morning.

What’s wrong with a girl wearing these? I know I know, they’re associated with the so-called “Walk of Shame”, having to wear your hook-up’s shirt after a night of regrets and well, …. shame? Well, I wouldn’t know, but I suppose I would wear his clothes if I had access to some fashionable dude’s expensive closet…

But anyway, I’m putting my two words into supporting wearing mens clothes. Just because I own mens clothes doesn’t mean:
1) I have a boyfriend (and I stole his clothes), or
2) I have boyfriend (and I borrowed hisΒ  clothes)
3) I have ex-boyfriend issues and is still wearing/ keeping his clothes

And it certainly doesn’t mean:
3) I had a hookup and stole his clothes, or
4) I had a hookup and he left his clothes behind

It really just means:
5) I love mens clothes so I actually bought them

No, it doesn’t mean
6) I bought them at the store because I want to pretend I have a boyfriend/ significant other, or
7) I have an insatiable itch to shop (although my mom would beg the differ)

So, for the record, guys – IΒ  1) am single, 2) DO NOT do one-night stands, 3) do not have problems being single, and 4) I love mens clothes, and mens-inspired fashion πŸ™‚

So, what do you guys and gals think? Are girls clothed in over-sized mens’ shirts more slutty than fashionable? Maybe there’s a problem with society that girls are thought to be more slutty than fashionable. Maybe people just don’t understand fashion as an art form, a way to experiment, a way to express yourself.
A few months ago, I came across this video a friend shared with me, and I just thought it was pure genius!

(I got so excited after this, I tried to replicate. Lets just say this girl has a special talent :P)

So in all honesty, I don’t think there’s problem with girls wearing mens clothes at all. In fact, if you’re a fashion geek like myself, you’ll have noticed that there’s been a trend for mens-inspired womens’ clothing. All the more reason to get your mustache on! Hehe.

“the truth is, a great mind must be androgynous” – to me, great, versatile fashion is not only stylish and functional, but androgynous as well!
Here are a couple of my mens-inspired clothing for women, or just straight up from the men’s section! πŸ™‚

Pleated trousers & suspenders!
Mens surf tank, worn as dress. Navajo cap
Mens canvas backpack, my FAVE boots!

Other things in my wardrobe that some people think are “questionable”

  • Billabong board shorts (mens) – they were just so much more comfortable than womens’
  • Ties
  • Rugby shirt
  • Oxfords (Lordy, of I would only fit mens’ shoes, I’d be in trouble!)

Comments, Like, Subscribe!↴

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Fashion Quirk #12

  1. Men’s shoes are just better don’t you think. Better quality and have a certain edge to them. I love the last photo you look so adventurous!

    Nicole
    http://loyaltofashion.wordpress.com/
    xxx

  2. I love your fashion sense. I love blending mens clothing and shoes with feminine flare. When ever a guy friend or male in the family is getting rid of clothes I raid the pile first. I have scored awesome belts, ties, shirts and sweaters that they haven’t even touched. More for me! πŸ˜‰

  3. airamdatoon says:

    WHERE DID YOU FIND THAT CANVAS BACKPACK?!?!?!?!?!?!?

    Are those suspenders the one that you wanted? old fashion kind?

Leave a Reply

